Man, Give Your Day A Chance!

Putting my feelings in one word would simply be: overwhelming. There’s so much I want to do in life and I want to do them NOW. All at once perhaps? Right now, I  have two hands (note-to-all-who-thought-“duh”: figuratively speaking) itching to buy a canvas and some painting materials and take a painting course. I have a mouth twitching to scream and sing my heart out. I have feet that wants to paddle a bike and eyes that wants to see the beauty of the world. I want to do A LOT. But no, I’m here cramming for my prelim exams.

The point of what I just said? Nothing much to your benefit. I just needed to let it all out, you know what I’m saying? Probably looking for someone to relate with. If you were looking at me right now, you’d see a poker-faced girl who looks bored and unenthusiastic about life. But deep deep down, I’m a ticking bomb waiting to explode! I just LOVE life and people and small things. I smile at the clouds and laugh at silly birds. I guess, to make this more beneficial to your reading, let me leave out some words of wisdom…

Give your day a chance.
– Max Lucado, “Every Day Deserves a Chance”

(I do not own this picture)

Today may seem like every other day. Your daily routine PLUS the additional (irritating) situations which ruins your seemingly ‘okay’ day. But seriously, FORCE yourself to look at the bright side. You may call it “false-joy” but in the end, you’d be glad you didn’t sulk all day long and linger at your pity party. And I know this verse may seem repetitive, but read it in a different perspective for once:

Psalm 118:24

This is the day the Lord has made;
We will rejoice and be glad in it.

Rejoice about what? If you read the whole context of the verse, it talks about the Lord’s mercy. It won’t mean much to you unless you see how desperately you need it. Once we realize how much He has done for us, how he pours out His love and grace to us, I don’t think we’d be so -neutral- anymore.

Just give it a try. Before you eat, pray and give thanks then savor each and every bite. While you do your chores, do it with joy and perhaps even go the extra mile and do the dishes as well! When illustrating the skeletal system for your AnaPhy class, add in some details and color it for the extra glam. Do your BEST in everything and bahala na ang Diyos sa lahat (the Lord will do the rest)

I may not be able to fulfill all the things I want to do, but in everything I do, I do it with gladness for the Lord. (Colossians 4:13) And before you know it, the day will turn out SOOOO much better than you’d expected it to be. Just do it for the Lord.

HAPPY TO SERVE!

 

Leave a Reply

