Kirk Franklin, Thoughts, and Sprinkles of Joy!

I didn’t know what the title of this post should be because it’s basically just random and mixed up. I can’t contain these things! I have to share everything that’s in my head, from the ‘summary of my whole week’ to my ‘jam of the month!’

I’m the type of person who listens to the same playlist of songs for a whole month, and usually those are songs from different artists of the same genre. So, I’d like to share one song before I continue with all my kwento (stories).

You- became just like me,
To unlock and set free
This prison that was deeply wounded and redeemed.”

Yeah, Kirk Franklin ya’ll! And yes, I’m going urban gospel probably for the next few months as well. This song is just amazing! There is certainly no one like our Lord, Jesus. Can I get an AMEN?

Anyway, I will start with a ‘God is amazing’. Despite that, I still fall short of His glory and it gets frustrating at times. But I’m glad that He has already set me free from moral sin. I won’t let my guilt keep me from praising His name! His mercy is new everyday guys 🙂 Never forget that.

Last Sunday, I commuted alone for the first time (in foreveeer~) from Legarda station to North Avenue- Trinoma which took me about 50 minutes of joy and sweat. And boy am I glad that God gave me joy. My journey wasn’t fearful at all because of that. Though I must admit, I did get a bit worried about getting lost- but Filipinos are very helpful and I found my way in no time (I was still quite careful about who I asked information from- you have to make sure they are authorized people). Commuting alone in the Philippines isn’t the safest thing to do, but I am thankful and proud that my parents trusted in me and, most especially, in God that I was able to experience this.

To others, it’s a daily routine to commute for work or school.

For me, it’s an opportunity to be independent of people and to be dependent on God.

Another good news worth celebrating… I joined the Music Ministry of ACC Philippines! Well, I’m not completely sure if I am part of the Music Ministry… yet, but I’m joining so that counts! I’ll start slow, though I’m already hyped up and excited! It won’t be easy considering my busy schedule at school and my form of transportation. But by the grace of God, if it is God’s will, everything will go as planned.

Today was a good start. I sang the song “Air I Breathe”, for the receiving of the communion. And I’m happy that I sang wholeheartedly for God and not to impress anybody. For a person who loves to sing, it’s common to have this urge to “show-off” and forget about the Lord, you know. But I’m glad that I started with a good heart. I hope and pray that I will still sing with a whole and good heart in the end.

Attending a new church wasn’t an easy transition for me. I honestly felt left out and out of place for a while. I’d have to make new friends and basically start all over again. But little by little, I start to notice that God is working on… something. I don’t know what it is, but I’m getting a tiny glimpse. I started making friends one by one, talking to each youth personally. My excitement for the church is being renewed each day. Things are moving relatively quicker than I expected it to be. But I try to savor each moment as if it were the last (wooh dramatic). You should try it too, you know.

Random thought! I always thought myself to be the kind of girl who would be in a relationship in her late 20’s. Probably even thirty if I get that youthful. Shayne and I talked about this probably more than once. What teenager can resist the talk on relationships? Somehow, I get uncomfortable. I know I’m still young, but I wonder how long will this feeling last. I mention about this more than I’d like to. The feeling of… ew. Do you get me? HAHAHA probably not. Anyway, I’m not ready, and even if I felt like I was ready- dating at 16 isn’t and probably will never be a good idea in my opinion. Okay, enough of that relationship talk.

Hmm.. what about my relationship with God? I should say, I haven’t thought of God this much before. Like, God has been in my mind a lot more than I ever did since I left Dubai and I’ve fallen more deep in love with Him. And it might not have anything to do with where I am right now- all I know is that my desire to know God and praise Him has developed. I guess, God had really planned for me to study here in the Philippines. Considering how smooth the flight was, how I passed the entrance exam at my university, the quick transition, finding a church, a dorm to stay in… it’s almost perfect. I dare say perfect. It doesn’t mean I don’t cry at night because I miss my family and friends back in Dubai… I honestly still do. I believe God had called me for this. There were people who discouraged me from going here to Manila- even our Pastor did! But you see? Nothing can get past the perfect will of God.

Proverbs 19:21 (NIV) Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.

By the way, I am so sorry for the unorderly post. I hope you get to ketchup… get it? ketch-up? HAHAHA I don’t know, I’ve been this random ever since I was a kid, it’s hard to avoid especially when you’ve got a ton of things to share.

Oh gosh! I didn’t leave the computer anymore! Gah I have to manage my time more wisely 😡 and prelim is near! WAAAAH Lord halp meee! Okay I gotta stop typing. I want to share more, but it looks like I’ve got to go now. I hope you guys got something from my messy post. God bless you, my lovelies! ❤

Sprinkles of joy! 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

