“What Promise of God Do You Hold?” || Weekly Devotion

Aug 19, 2015

Psalm 119:10-11
With all my heart I have sought You; Do not let me wander from Your commandments. Your word I have treasured in my heart, That I may not sin against You.

A friend I met in class, who happened to be a Christian, asked me “So, what promise of God are you holding today?” I wanted so badly to answer a Bible verse or something cool like, “God will never leave me nor forsake me, yeah I hold on to that.” But no, my mind was totally blank. At that very moment, I realized that I’ve been too “busy” trying to keep things in shape that I have forgotten the very One who molded it in the first place. The first few weeks of my arrival to the Philippines, I held unto the promise God will provide. I fully surrendered my situations and circumstances to Him, and everything came into place- SNAP! Just like that.

But now that God has provided for me… more than enough honestly. Its as if my mind had decided that I no longer needed His help nor did I feel that I needed His provisions any more. I thought about other things I found more “important” than God. Like school, grades, making friends, and yes, even church. Thing is, I need Him. You need Him. We all need Him. And we need to stick it up into that silly brain of ours, that we need God more than we need everything else. I need God more than I need the answers to all my never-ending questions. Why? because God is my everything. And Jesus is the answer. I guess I just needed to know that He’ll be there for me no matter what.

And did you know that there’s a promise for that as well? Joshua 1:9. The verse that I have treasured and tattooed in my heart. ❤

Joshua 1:9
Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid nor dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.

It reminds me to be strong and courageous. It comforts me because now I have the knowledge that God will be with me wherever I go. It encourages me to live a life with confidence and reassurance. And when God fulfills His promise, I know that the rest of His promises is guaranteed to be fulfilled.

The 7 Benefits of Treasuring God’s Word into Your Heart:

  1. Gives comfort
  2. Gives knowledge
  3. Encourages
  4. Brings confidence
  5. Reassures
  6. Keeps you from sinning
  7. Gives you the courage to live life the way You were made to live it.

The amazing thing about God’s promises is that you can put your trust to it and surrender to it fully, knowing that He will keep His word. He will never ever change for He is perfect and divine, and what more His Holy word? What’s even more reassuring is His unfailing, never-ending, and ever-flowing love for us. With that much love, I’m 100% sure that God will keep His promises! So why doubt? 

God bless you, my lovelies! Find out more about God and His promises in HIs Holy word and meditate on them every day to give you a fresh start with His promise in your heart. ❤

Lots of love,
Mary

Leave a Reply

