My Trip to the Petting Farm

Settings: Posh Paws Animal Sanctuary (Dubai, UAE)

Laura Glanfield, founder.

Laura Glanfield, founder.

I personally am in love with animals, there’s just something interesting about them that I cant point out. They’ve been big part of my life ever since I was a child and I loved to learn new things about them. Visiting the zoo fulfilled that and it was a wish come true! The trip was amazing! It wasn’t too far from home as I expected, which is fortunate for me haha. I didn’t expect the owner to be roaming around but when I saw her, it was like passing by a celebrity! But of course, I was my shy self and I had to beg my dad to ask if she would like to take a picture 🙂 BTW (a short message to Laura) “Thank you so much for putting up a place like this, it is not only fun and educational, but it also became a home to many abandoned and unwanted animals. It’s awesome!” When I went out of the car, the smell of ‘zoo’ immediately hit my nostrils. I didn’t know if that was a good thing or not but I was too excited to care. The entrance fee is about AED 20 for adults and AED 10 for children. Entering the farm… was an animal frenzy! Most of the animals had the freedom to get in and out of their enclosures and they were all just chill around each other despite their differences. That… was amazing. Though I honestly prefer the animals placed in their own enclosure because its a bit more beneficial to the visitors that way, in my opinion because my sister did not have fun at all. She was too busy being scared haha, I felt a bit bad… but this will only last for just a little while longer, sis, please wait! She expected the animals to be in their places, if they were, she might have been a bit more comfortable. The animals were just roaming around, seeking for food, and chilling. They seemed to be fine, it was so surreal, how they interacted with one another. But the rabbit poops were all over the place like little bits of chocolate cereals, which reminded me of my rabbit, Grayham. Goats were jumping here and there, one even stomped into the pen of the guinea pigs.

Sulcata "scene"

Sulcata “scene”

And I will not ever forget the scene the two Sulcatas made when we first came into the zoo… such a scene.

Selfie with Mama Goat

Selfie with Mama Goat

There’s me and Mama Goat, she had a bigger belly than the others so I predicted she was pregnant. She wasn’t grumpy like how most pregnant women would be haha, that was just a joke. But really, she was as sweet as a baby… begging for that piece of carrot I held in my hand, which I gladly gave. I mean hey, its Christmas 🙂 There were ferrets, guinea pigs, 2 dogs, a Rottweiler and a Beagle, goats, a cow, birds, baboons, 2 meerkats, 2 coatis, etc. They were everywhere. It’s certainly not a place to relax, instead it’s a place to interact, feed, and get messy with the animals.

He just couldn't wait!

He just couldn’t wait!

You have the choice to bring your own pack of fruits and vegetables to feed the animals or buy a bucket full of food for them in the farm. OR you could do both, which was what I did. I do have to warn you though, the animals KNOW what you’re holding and some will definitely follow you and probably even harass you, ESPECIALLY the emu. That big, raptor-looking, dinosaur-ish, everything eating bird. He saw the bucket I was holding and focused on it while coming up to me, I could’ve ran but mind you, I was cornered T_T what to do? Well, give him the bucket. Emu’s when raised in captivity are really docile and sweet animals, but we must remember that they are also dangerous and could kick you with their big-clawed, chicken-like feet both forward and sideways; and don’t get me started with their hard beaks. They need their hard beak because they are omnivorous and will eat almost anything in sight, even those that aren’t edible. They are cute though, can’t deny that. And I will never forget the feeling of holding a python. It was so peculiar to the touch, so soft and smooth in texture and then after a little while, you will feel its strong muscles as it slithers on the palm of your hand. Weird… but I love it! I totally wouldn’t mind coming back to the zoo, but this time I want to come in as a volunteer. I don’t know why but there is just something pleasurable about cleaning poop and walking dogs and just getting plain messy. It’s a dirty job, yes. But it’s worth the experience! They accept volunteers of all ages and perhaps even visiting the zoo is a big contribution/help in itself. This is actually my first time going there, but it will absolutely not be the last.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s their website for more information: Posh Paws Animal Sanctuary and Petting Farm, Dubai, UAE So that’s all for today! I hope you enjoyed reading my post for today. I just want to give a special thanks to my mom and dad for using their time to bring me here, my sister for being there (even if she hated it), and most especially to GOD for making it all happen 🙂 God bless you, my lovelies! Mwah!

Leave a Reply

